Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nobody would dispute the fact that many offenders who are sent behind bars will still commit crimes after being released from prison. In my opinion, the major cause of this problem is the harsh treatment provided by society members. However, the government can bring a significant change by implementing certain policies. There are several causes for such behaviour of criminals. The most preponderant one is that when a prisoner is set free, he is regarded as a bad character in the community. Consequently, reckless people will often avoid interacting with them because of their immoral image. Hence, they will lack the feeling of belongingness to society, which will create a feeling of frustration and depression, therefore, leading to more offences. Moreover, when the convicts try to look for employment opportunities, they will often be refused a chance as companies don’t want to recruit them because of their past. This leads to a financial crisis, and in order to improve their ailing status, they will only be left with an option of committing more crimes, hence surging the crime rates. The government has a critical role to play in such a situation. Firstly, they can implement some schemes or legislations for the local businesses, where employers will be provided with monetary incentives and bonuses for hiring unemployed offenders. This will encourage businesses to hire such people, hence, bringing their unemployment rate down. Secondly, people of the community need to change their mentality and accept people with criminal histories in their daily interactions. In conclusion, the major reasons for re-offenses by numerous lawbreakers were due to the treatment they receive from society and the struggle to find an occupation to survive. Government should look into this matter and make the job market more accessible for the ex-offenders; otherwise, it will lead to a myriad of concerns. Besides, they should also be respected and treated equally in the social world