Creative artists should always have the freedom to express their ideas (in paintings, books, films and songs) in anyway they wish. The government should not restrict what they do. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

There is an on going discussion around the world that artistic freedom should be restricted or not, even in some democratic countries. I agree with the idea of no restricts because I believe that society’s best interest are served when there is no limitation in artistic fields. Freedom of artistic expression is important in its own right. Such freedom gives the widest scope to the exchange of ideas in a society and also promotes the general level of culture. There is a reason describing that freedom is essential as it is closely linking to particular politics. If a government passes laws restricting artistic expressions on political speech without freedom of speech, the development of a democratic society would be greatly curtailed. Most of the developed countries are not restricting the freedom of artists while some which restrict are dropped behind the world. Most advocates of limiting artistic freedom will say that they are not only for restrictions in certain cases. For example, in political content, or even perhaps religious content which is contrary to the majority religion of a country. However, in the first case, suppression of political expression is very often a question of tightening legitimate criticism of corruption or abuse of power by the government. Secondly, outlawing minority religious views only creates greater tension and potential for conflict in society. In conclusion, creative freedom is an ideal worth defending. It makes possible the developments of culture, and it is also inherently linked to broader freedoms.