Some people think that visitors to other countries should obey local customs and behaviours. While other people disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the trends of globalization, people are traversing the continent from west to east and the vice versa more frequently than ever before. Many people think that tourists should respect local traditions and behaviour while others prefer to differ and believe that the recipient country ought to welcome cultural diversity. In this case, I opine that both viewpoints have their merits. To commence with, many argue that visitors should respect the local tradition, culture and lifestyle. According to them, by respecting the local way of life, foreigners will be welcomed by the local people. In consequence, they can develop a harmonious relationship with the host nation, which in turn stimulates a greater integration. Apart from it, newcomers would get first -hand experience of local customs and traditions, which allows them to immerse in the local lifestyle. As a result, they can acquire knowledge and skills. For instance, foreigners can learn the local language of the host country by taking the opportunity to have a real-life practice to master the language. Similarly, the host country also reaps the benefits of cultural diversity by welcoming tourists and their heterogeneity as it is not easy foe a visitor to act like a host citizen. A host country can create a vibrant cosmopolitan atmosphere, which in turn develops a keen sense of tolerance between the foreigners and the local people. In fact, cultural differences help us comprehend different perspectives within the globe in which we live. As a result, it helps dispel negative prejudices and personal biases about various racial, cultural and ethnic groups. In addition to this, cultural diversity makes a country a more attractive place to live in. For example, citizens from diverse cultures contribute to different experiences, solving problems, language proficiency, and new approaches of thinking to name but a few. In conclusion, a recipient country should always welcome people from diverse cultures and tourists ought to respect local ways of living as well since this attitude is mutually beneficial.