Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Playing games keep us physically and mentally healthy, be it with our friends in a park or on a computer inside a room. It is observed that the newer generation prefers to play games on their desktop instead of going out in open. In my essay, I will explain why it happens and also tell why is it a negative development. In most nuclear families, both parents are working and hence it becomes difficult to spend time with their offspring. As a result, little ones tend to spend more time with friends even after school and the best way to keep connected is via online gaming. Most commonly played online games, such as Counter-Strike, Call of Duty, Halo 3 etc. are very addictive. Because of this, kids like to play those games more and more instead of physical games like football or cricket. However, it adversely affects the child’s health, both mentally and physically. Although playing online develops a competitive spirit in children, it also makes them violent. This happens because the nature of the game involves a lot of battles where children use different kinds of weapons, such as guns, swords, tanks etc. Furthermore, because of the addiction children are found to be involved in their laptops or mobiles all the time even in social gatherings, thereby making them completely non-social. In conclusion, kids playing a lot of computer games is a result of poor parenting, which I believe creates a huge negative effect because it makes them completely non-social. This negative development of the newer generation needs immediate attention.