Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The discussion on the potential adverse effects of daily computer use on small children has been active ever since these devices became common at households. Some people argue that playing games or performing other computer activities even as often as every day is good for the development of young people. I don't agree with that and strongly believe that there is more negative about these habits, and further down in this essay I will argue why. Let's be honest, when a child is using a computer, it is either playing games, or watching something, and in both cases very rarely it would be something actually good for brain development. True that there is educational software, but it has great analogues on paper. There are well known studies that compare academic performance of children in elementary school from families both with computers at home and without them. To me the strong correlation between poor grades and long hours looking at the screen is not surprising. It is difficult for adults to sit at computers in a way that would not affect health negatively, and even more so for children. It is impossible to explain to the kids the importance of maintaining the right distance between the screen and the eyes, for instance, or how hand muscles could be negatively affected by constant clicking. The list of potential risks for health is long, and some of these risks can take a long time to realize. I can even give myself as an example, at 5 I would be playing games two hours daily, not listening to my parents that I should be sitting straight – and at 16 I regretted that deeply when this finally resulted in a surgery on my back. Summarizing the above, the following can be clearly stated – computers are very harmful to young children and any positive effects are negligible when compared to the bad ones.