Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in case homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages or this trend?

Nowadays, it is a common trend to admit elderly citizens to retirement homes instead of staying at home with their families. In the following paragraphs, the advantages and disadvantages of the previous topic will be outlined in detail before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, there are some advantages to bringing elders into nursing homes. Firstly, these elders can be monitored and taken care of safely and professionally by staff who specialize in service and take care of elderly people. For instance, If accident or emergency situations occur, The retirement homes will have drugs and equipment which can access easily. Secondly, some older ones feel lonely at residence because of the generation gap and youngers and adults of the family stay busy with their own daily tasks, thus it is hard for the family to look after of elderly, whereas, at the old age homes, all persons are of the same age. On the other hand, the one drawback of living in nursing places is that it will increase their risk for depression. For example, some of the patients do not adapt to their new surroundings and their conditions, leading them to have more abnormal and complicated symptoms. Moreover, the number of elderly patients grow more than the healthcare demand as well. Nurses are affected by this situation as they need to work extra hours with more patient care. if it is continued, it leads to burnout and lesser motivation to be nurses and decreases the quality of healthcare service. In summary, while senior patients can take benefits from retirement homes, it can also lead to depression and decrease healthcare excellence.