Today, many people do not have time to spend with their families in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

It is unfortunately very common and even normal today, that it is difficult for people in urbanised areas to allocate enough time to spend with their beloved ones. Sadly, this situation creates a literal pandemic of unhappiness and dissatisfaction in life. Despite that there are too many root causes of these negative factors to fix all of them, it is possible to change the scheduling habits, which would help improve the mental well-being of inhabitants of large cities. People who live in cities and work full time are not able to feel good, simply because their timetables are full of duties and obligations. There is often no free space for enough interaction with their relatives. Talking over a telephone for a few minutes while commuting creates an illusion of proximity to your family, but in reality, such talks are only a half-measure. Specifically, recent research has concluded that the lack of regular offline family gatherings decreased the average happiness below the World War II levels. Needless to say, this lack of quality communication between family members has to be addressed. Real improvements could only be achievable by introducing changes to scheduling habits. Therefore, if someone would like to increase his quality of life by spending more time with his relatives, he should first look at what kind of activities his daily routine is full of. It could be, for instance, excessive use of social networks, or a workplace that takes a too long time to drive to. Obviously, not all time sinks can be eliminated at once, but it should not be too difficult to recognise the biggest ones and implement alterations. In conclusion, to summarize the above, while it is nowadays normal to be unhappy in the modern urban environment due to a lack of conversations with your family members, it is always possible to increase your quality of life by dedicating more time to meeting them in real life.