At present, the media greatly affects people’s lives. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

In the twenty- first century, media seems ever present in the lives of people all around the world. This essay will look into its impact and also discuss whether it is positive or negative. The role of the media is huge and it will probably continue to grow. Throughout the world, people’s opinions and beliefs are shaped by the media. Whether it is a newspaper, a TV channel, a website, or a social media app, these organizations have the power to make us vote for a political party, alter our views on particular social issues, or take an interest in some area of life. In other words, the power that they wield is immense. In the United States, the media appears to have recently divided the population into rival political factions, with devastating consequences for society as a whole. The above example makes it seem as though the media is purely negative, but this is not true. When unscrupulous individuals use it to manipulate large numbers of people into doing something, then of course it is problematic, but that is not always how media works. There have been honest, upstanding media outlets throughout history whose commitment to spreading the truth has helped solve great problems. Take, for example, the Washington Post’s expose of Richard Nixon’s crimes during the Watergate scandal. It is clear, then, that the media ’s power is neither positive nor negative; instead, it is what people let it be. In conclusion, the media has a very large degree of control over people’s lives and this seems to be growing. It affects many parts of society, and in some,ways this is rather negative, whilst in others it is positive.