In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, due to the development of science and improved medical technologies. People tend to live longer than usual so some people argue that older age populations are problematic for the government while others say that having elderly people in the community is a benefit.In this essay, we will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of having an ageing population in society. One of the significant drawbacks of having more ageing groups in the country is that the government has to provide stipends and take care of them which might be a burden for the taxpayers. For example, the person needs to be taken care of by providing appropriate medical care and routine check-ups as a consequence of this the healthcare system is being impacted. If an old person is financially independent in a company and has been working with a lot of experience, this becomes a difficult task for a young person to gain employment. On the other hand, older people are considered to be an asset to the country. This is because of the experience that they gained in all those years they used to teach the upcoming generation how to handle life in an easier way.The other way the older population contribute to society is by taking care of their grandchildren because nowadays most of the parents work so the grandparents take responsibility for them. For instance by taking them to school, babysitting them and giving them healthy food and lifestyle. In conclusion, Although there are significant disadvantages like being a burden to society and taking up the younger generation's job vacancies, there are far many advantages that outweigh them like making their children’s lives easier and teaching others how to handle life