Not enough students choose science subjects in universities in many countries. What are the reasons and what are the impacts on our society

Nowadays, science is no longer a popular option for many students in many countries. This essay will discuss the main reasons and will also explain how it would adversely impact society. The reduction in demand for science as tertiary education is mainly due to the fact that people are choosing other courses which have better career prosperity. Indeed, in this materialistic world, people are more interested in learning subjects which would promise them better employment opportunities. In India, courses such as computer engineering are in high demand as students are getting jobs as soon as they complete while compared to students who learned other subjects. Those students who are professionally qualified in science are changing their career to I.T, even though there are few science -related jobs available as the pay is much lower for these jobs. More and more students, as a result, are unwilling to opt for science in order to avoid these dire repercussions. Fewer admissions for science -related courses, however, is a serious issue in many societies mainly due to the fact that many universities would discontinue providing these courses to the public. The objective of many universities is to generate profit in order to grow, so if a department is not performing well, then the management would consider shutting that down. Many staffs in that department would lose their jobs as a consequence of this initiative taken. These staff might find it difficult to find alternate jobs, although they are qualified due to the same reason. In fact this would not only impacts the career of these staff but also would affect their family because of unemployment. In conclusion, in my perspective, the drop in preference for science subjects is mainly because of the lack of appealing employment options in this field, and this has negatively impacted the lives of many science -qualified professionals and their families.