Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that by some people advertising is very effective in making people decide to buy something. Others think that advertising is widespread and it leads to being out of function. In my opinion, the prevalence of advertisements is not good for them. According to some people, one of the main reasons why companies can successfully persuade people to purchase their products is the effective use of the Internet to keep them informed constantly. By far, the Internet has been the most widely used means of accessing information compared to other means such as magazines, ads columns and occasional radio adverts. By exploiting this powerful medium, advertisers have increased people ’s exposure to adverts to a great extent. While in the past products were only advertised via commercials, billboards and fliers, which was cumbersome and inefficient, nowadays, they are promoted more effectively through pop ads, and social media platforms, resulting in the rapid spread of advertisements known as viral marketing. Fairly enough, advertisers’ success can be attributed to speed and consistency in exposing the public by employing the internet. On the other hand, the main reason for not paying attention to advertisements is that people are exposed to advertisements constantly and I agree. Advertisements are in common sight and people see these on billboards, on TV and on the internet and in other places in their daily life. It leads to people are not attracted by advertisements because of the fact that they see the same advertisements lots of time. For example, the same theme, the same sound of bite and similar kinds of music are used in ice-cream advertisements, so people are used to seeing these resemble advertisements and they cannot be aware of what is the different advertisement of brands. In other words, this causes it can lose its power to attract the public’s attention. To conclude, some people think that advertisements are efficient, whereas others claim they are not attractive to people. My personal opinion is that although advertising plays an important role in companies promoting their products and convincing people to buy, too much exposure to advertisements causes people to not pay attention to the advertisements and not be aware of the advertisements. Advertisements should not be so widespread and be unique in order to attract people's attention.