In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Around the world, it is now quite common for people to shop in supermarkets whereas in the past they might have instead gone to a local market to buy produce. This essay will argue that it is generally a good thing because it gives people more choice. First of all, supermarkets tend to be able to source food from around the world in a way that smaller shops and market vendors cannot, and this means the consumer is given a much larger choice when they do their shopping. Choice can be seen as positive for a number of reasons, including the fact that people seem to enjoy experiencing new flavours. It is generally true that people in most parts of the world get a sort of satisfaction from food and trying new foods often brings people a sense of happiness and reward. People in the United Kingdom, for example, love eating food from China and India whilst people in Japan often adore French and Italian cuisine. When these products or ready-made meals are available in supermarkets, it is not only the wealthiest people who can enjoy them. Almost everyone can go to a supermarket, buy these products, and then take them home for dinner. In addition to this being a pleasant experience, it can also be a healthy one. It is true that supermarkets sell a lot of processed foods, which are unhealthy, but they offer people a huge selection of fruits, vegetables, and grains from around the world. In the northern hemisphere, where it is cold for much of the year, local farmers cannot grow many fruits, and they also struggle to produce spices. However, supermarkets can import these items in vast quantities and make them affordable. With more selection, people can get more vitamins and minerals. They do not have to rely on local suppliers. That means people may not have to forgo vitamin C during the winter, for example, and might instead get a diverse range of micronutrients, which is beneficial for their health. In conclusion, supermarkets that import foreign foods can be seen as a generally positive development. Some might say they hurt local suppliers, but overall they provide people with a bigger range of food, which is the most important factor.