Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has a profound impact on our society. Consumers are buying products from famous brands which in turn boosts the sale for these companies, even though there is no need to buy them as a consequence of extensive advertisements. Personally, I completely disagree that sales are directly influenced by the ads. People buy more products as part of lifestyle change. Unlike before, people like to live a modern life and as a result, they buy many products, even though some of them are not essential. The models of mobile phones, for instance, are frequently changed by the manufacturers with only minor upgrades, and those who like to have a fancy life tend to buy these, although their old phones are perfectly operational. So if customers continue to buy in order to upgrade their lifestyles, then advertisements would only introduce these new items to the public, and do not act as a driving factor for increasing sales. Another factor for assuming that ads are not the only driving factor for the huge sales is that even today, many are struggling to meet ends. In such a scenario, they are well planned as to what to buy and how much to spend. Having a struggled life, they would buy prioritise spending their capital on essential expenses such as rent and groceries instead of fancy. In fact, these individuals would not get influenced by commercials, even though they are tempting. In conclusion, in my opinion, proliferated business for many reputed companies are not completely driven by commercials, instead, it is mainly due to the change in lifestyle, and moreover, many people are carefully allocating expense while running on a small income.