Students learn far more from teachers at schools and universities than from other sources such as the Internet and TV programs. Do you agree or disagree?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, the attitude people adopt toward education has undergone a noticeable and far-reaching transformation. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus is hardly reached as to whether students are equipped with more knowledge by teachers or media sources such as the Internet and TV programs. For my part, I side with the former to a larger extent based on the following sound reasons. Firstly, it is noteworthy that teachers are of paramount importance in professional training programs. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible teachers and lecturers who have accumulated the richness of hands-on and know-how outperform filmed lectures in imparting soft knowledge to students. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that in formal curriculums, teachers have irreplaceable roles by technologies. For example, when it comes to medical training programs, medical students gain valuable clinical skills and etiquette from highly experienced teachers, not from a virtual learning environment. From this example, one can observe that teachers outweigh the Internet, and TV programs regarding teaching programs in specialized fields. Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors is that in social majors, students are able to gain insights into majors by learning from distance-learning programs on cyberspace and TV programs. This belief could be attributed to the fact that there has been an upsurge of free-of-charge online universities that can produce graduates who are equally qualified in comparison with graduates from traditional teaching programs. This argument is true to some degree; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is the fact that there is an inherited shortcoming which is commonly found in remote learning programs, which is the absence of peer interaction and teacher’s observation. For instance, according to some research, collaborative skill, argumentative skill, presentation skill and resilience are poor among students who attend virtual learning. From this example, one can observe that traditional programs can transfer more value to students. In conclusion, it is my opinion that the Internet and TV programs are never equivalent to teachers and formal programs at schools for the reasons mentioned above. From that point, the new generation always wants a new and interesting method to study more effectively which requires a breakthrough professor willing to change to adapt to that demand.