Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you thinnk the educational benefits of testing outway any disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The exams are conducted to check the competency of the students and to evaluate them. The mechanism is considered the most authentic one to know about the level of knowledge in a student and is implemented almost all over the world. However, this method of assessment has both pros and cons, I am of the opinion that it has more drawbacks than advantages. Down below will be discussed, both benefits and harms along with my ideas. The first and foremost advantage of the tests is that it helps teachers check the ability of all the pupils equally and sort out the weak ones. For instance, in a class test or,quiz those who have difficulty in learning will be pointed out. Hence, whosoever needs more attention will be provided. Additionally, it creates a competitive environment among pupils where everyone wants to go ahead of the others and as a result, many future brilliant people will come forward. For example, students who will have the habit of hard work during routine quiz class will take it along with them in practical life and work with the same spirit in their lives. Consequently, useful people to society like scientists, economists, engineers, and builders will emerge. As far as the disadvantages are concerned, firstly a few examination papers cannot be a criterion of one's ability and as a consequence, the limitations of this system are evident.To illustrate, a student having a skilful approach may not be able to perform well in reading and writing. Thus, he may not be labelled as dull. To move forward, another harm of such evaluation is that it is a method of overall marks judgement whereas, many of the students might be exceptional in one subject and not able to perform equivalent to average due to lack of interest or so. To cite an instance, someone who wants to be a medical professional may not have an interest in mathematics and he could be considered a dumb student despite good marks in science subjects. Hence, exams are not enough to judge someone's intellect. To conclude, it is clearly evident that the orthodox examination system has both good features and bad ones equally and the downside of the typical methodology overweighs the benefits. I, therefore, reiterate that technique like this should not be the sole criteria for judging the disciples due to the flaws it holds.