In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, the urban planning of big cities brings significant impacts on the landscapes of cities and the lifestyle of residents. Among these changes, small local shops are gradually replaced by large shopping malls. Personally, I would argue that more disadvantages are introduced than the advantages brought by closing small local shops. Several compelling reasons can be listed to argue the negative impacts on local people and city development by closing local shops. Initially, a great inconvenience will be introduced for the general living among the public if these stores are closed. As shown in many cities and areas, small stores are mainly distributed among regions of local residences which provides the great accessibility. For instance, customers can purchase their meals in one or two blocks-distance. In addition, small local shops are a part of native culture as there are no alternatives to some goods been sold from store. By contrast, large shopping centres and malls are significantly filled by chain stores along with less unique feature of local culture and fingerprints. Shopping at these places would be less fun, especially from the perspectives of travellers from other places. Lastly, the removal of a great number of small stores induces the increased number of unemployment which is not conducive to the economy and the stability of areas. Specifically, people who made their living by running local businesses previously are now forced to switch their careers or hunt for another job occupation. As a result, complains can be induced among the public. It is known that weaknesses are always attended by strengths. Someone argues that large shopping centres effectively simplify the management and surveillance of markets. Since most stores in centres are well supervised under the group, it is less frequent to see cases of fraudulence or goods with crappy quality, which were seen from some local small shops. Nevertheless, the management can also be applied to the business of small local shops by the government. For instance, serious punishments can be executed to illegal actions from owners of shops. More comprehensive rules and laws can be updated to ensure the premium quality of staff from small stores. To sum up, it is fair to state that management of domestic and local stores is a challenging task. However, these stores comprise the culture logo of the city and significanly diversify the options for shopping along with great convenience in our daily life. Closing these shops will bring more negative impacts to our life. Hence, the space should be left for these shops by enforcing an improved management system for their business.