All education and healthcare should be funded by government and free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give your reasons and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a belief that the government should fund all education and healthcare, thus making it costless for everyone in need. This essay completely agrees with this statement. In my experience, I will prove how privately owned educational institutions are limiting potential discoveries and disabled people are in great need of governmental financial support. In my opinion, private education creates a gap between social classes and takes the opportunity of millions of people to acquire desirable knowledge. My story is a wonderful example of it. A couple of years ago I was doing research about ancient Egypt. While I was working on my paper, I stumbled across one book that could hypothetically prove my thesis. That was truly great luck to find it, however, this book was in a collection of a local private university. I contacted them asking for an opportunity to use it for my research, but they refused to give me a chance. Their main arguments were that every single student of theirs was paying a huge amount of money to school funding purely for access to resources and it would be against their policy to give any of their copies for free. I would be able to finish my studies without a problem if the government were paying the school to keep their archive accessible for everyone. Unfortunately, education is not the only field that suffers due to lack of funds. Hospitality is also one of them. My grandmother became disabled three years ago after she had a stroke. It was not only an awful tragedy for our family, but therefore a huge financial burden. Many essential medical pressurises were only available in private clinics and if we include the consistency with which my grandmother needed them, the overall price for it was astonishingly high. My relatives were forced to work twice as hard as they used to just to cover a fraction of those bills. Nevertheless, we are privileged enough to be able to do it, but the majority of people don’t have this luxury. There are a lot of individuals that can barely meet their own needs and I am not even talking about taking care of a disabled person. I believe the state should support their citizens in such hard life situations such as my grandmother’s. To summarise everything, schooling and medical assistance are fundamental human rights that should be available to everyone, regardless of their socioeconomic status. Limited access to either of them can result in a disruption in society as well as a decrease in overall well-being among the population. As a society, we should constantly take steps towards progress and improvement, and by making those important areas of welfare free I strongly believe that we are moving in the right direction.