large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is opinion on this? do you think this is good or bad change?

Nowadays, large shopping centres pop up every now and then, inside these are mostly big retail chains shops, instead of traditional family shops which are less likely to afford high rents and open seven days a week. It has been contentious whether the relentless sweep by these huge shopping centres and chain stores is beneficial, in this essay I am going to shed some light on it. First and foremost, it is irrefutable that these gigantic shopping centres bring enormous passenger flows, and these flows subsequently allow the shops to sell in larger volumes and operate with higher efficiencies. For example, with the big volumes, those chain stores are able to negotiate bulk purchase discounts from factories and shipping companies, employ state-of-the-art inventory systems to reduce waste. All of these play a part to contribute to the chain stores ' ability to charge a lower price to customers albeit paying a higher rent to the landlords. As a result, end customers are able to purchase more products with the same amount of money, and impoverished people are more likely to make their ends meet. On the flip side, this efficient, if not snobbery, style of doing business inevitably reduces the room of survival of small family shops, as consumers are increasingly drawn away from them. This necessitates a gradual disappearance of individual styles and variety, and some local craft skills are made redundant. For instance, in the past there were shops selling wooden products like handmade combs, now almost all shops like these close due to competition from the low-cost, mass production factories in Asia even though the quality of which is totally not comparable to the handmade ones. To sum up, the advocates of big shopping malls are mostly focusing on the economic side and critics are looking mainly from a cultural preservation perspective. My opinion is that, at the end of the day, it is how the consumers think that matters, and it is conspicuous that they love shopping malls and chain stores.