Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is found that in recent years, unwell people rely on traditional remedies instead of professional doctors. Undoubtedly, this trend may have helped people in other ways but I believe it is a negative development. There is a number of reasons behind this trend. The cost associated with medical therapy is skyrocketing these days so people attend to try other ways to cure them instead of visiting a professional in order to save money. For example, a report conducted by a popular newspaper in India named - Hindustan times, lighten up the truth that 65 per cent of Indians prefer to use home remedies to treat their problems instead of visiting a doctor because of costly treatment While it's true that some remedies are useful but it is irrefutable that these conventional treatments could test in fatal body injuries. Using alternative medicines and treatments has been a major problem in developing countries, which results in large mortality rates. A pertinent example of this would be, AIMS showed that in India, 40 per cent of deaths are due to self-medication. People don't have the proper knowledge and they just go with random treatment which could be fatal in some cases. To conclude, there is a number of factors which leads to the use of alternative treatments among people other than scientific procedures but this is harmful and results in severe health-related problems.