today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of media technology makes advertising enter into every family and become associated with people ’s decisions on buying things in their daily lives. Some consider that more people tend to refer to advertisements instead of their needs to purchase goods, and I totally agree with this opinion. Because of the flourishing social economy, people live a better life than before, which means they earn more money and have more freedom to dominate their wealth. They have the ability with enough money to buy things pleasing them, not just thinking about necessities at low prices to maintain their survival. As a result, when they buy adequate substances like tissues and foods, they are more likely to be attracted by a variety of commodities shown on the screens in an amazingly visual way. If interested in the good of an advertisement, such as a perfume or a watch, people then will take out their money to buy themselves a spiritual enjoyment. On the other hand, some may argue that people are still desired to buy things they really need for their life with high qualities and low prices. It is reasonable, but with the huge influence of advertising, people learn about more commodities at affordable prices, and these probably become ‘necessities’ because people cannot live without them to pursue a better life, even if they actually do not need these goods. Advertising shows how fabulous the life is after owning those commodities, which catches people ’s heart tightly, for they consider advertisements are symbols of popularities. If they do not follow the trend to buy something, this will symbolize they are left by others, which is a situation that people always want to deny. In conclusion, although people do not really need something, they are also willing to follow the influence of advertising to buy the shown commodities with reasonable prices to decorate their lives, and consequently, this contributes to the high sales of popular consumer goods.