Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization and industrialization have brought immense changes in the market. With the drastic increase of hypermarkets all across western countries, some believe that small business owners are unable to match their prices and are shutting shops as a result. I, however, opine that the change has provided us with immense benefits which far outweigh the negative impact. This essay will discuss the aforementioned topic along with examples and supporting arguments. Clearly the development of such shops and outlets has changed the buying experience for the customers wherein they are pampered with amazing choices and comfort at the same time providing a better price as compared to the neighbourhood shops. Although this hampers the revenue of small businesses, it enriches the consumers with a plethora of buying options. For example, as per a recent study conducted by a major market researcher, in big cities hypermarkets, on average, stores 10 times higher number of product options as compared to small retail stores with at least 20% reduction in prices. With such ample variants, consumers are benefited from the development and such change. Furthermore, even a small community of business owners who are not focused on retail can gain immensely from this change in trend. In addition to their traditional business model, they can always team up and collaborate with these big stores to display their product instead of treating them as competition. For instance, local manufacturers of cold-pressed oils who sell only to local customers can approach procurement executives of these chains to get their oils displayed and sold. If quality product is provided, the marketing channel and growth opportunities provided by such big chains are vast. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that local communities are dying due to the rapid increase and development of branded supermarkets. Although smaller retail stores face stiff competition, healthy competition should be always acknowledged with a positive sentiment and zeal to get better on every front.