Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way ton reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

An exponential increment in the number of crimes makes a peaceful life impossible. Some people argue that life imprisonment would reduce the number of illegal activities while the remaining support alternative ways to dwindle crime rates. These topics have been profoundly discussed in various international forums.I will discuss my point of view before coming to a conclusion. Even though, a longer prison sentence is a hard punishment it has failed to decrease various criminal activities in society. This type of fearless punishment makes culprits attempt more illegal actions. Because they know that the government would make healthcare support and good living conditions during imprisonment. Additionally, Human Rights Commission may come forward to offer support for the accused person. For instance,in,India a rape case had been reported several years ago. However, the culprit who committed this crime got a commute in punishment when the court found that he is a disabled man. These shreds of evidence show that the number of crimes may not be mitigated only by sentencing long-term imprisonment. On the other hand, punishments such as public beheading,stoning,amputation and lashing are alternative ways that found as effective in reducing serious criminal offences in many countries. Strict implementation of these kinds of actions could make a person think twice prior to taking a wrong decision. To illustrate, Saudi Arabia is is known for less number of crimes especially against women as it enforces strong and strict criminal law punishments. Therefore, government authorities in each and every country need to discuss the benefits of alternative punishments and try to implement them as early as possible. To conclude, it is acceptable to find different ways while punish the culprit rather than relying on a single one like imprisonment. Because it can ensure a crime-free and peaceful life in society.