Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

People today are living in global advancement times, which has reshaped our various lifestyles. Some group thinks that ancient practice should fade off while others say otherwise. From my point of view, I do not agree with the aforementioned., This essay will discuss how our ancestral cultures have impacted a lot in our lives. Firstly, ancestral cultures identify people's identity from different diversities around the world, most ancient practice represents a symbol which is taken to be scary. For example, some parts of India believe in their idol worship and cultures which is sacrosanct and anyone who defiles the sacred land will be penalized. Again lots of people dress according to their culture. Furthermore, most people still believe in the use of herbs and roots rather than orthodox medicine this could be implied to the Chinese groups. Traditions are ancestral cultures which were far practice by our ancestors although modernisation helped us to reshape a lot of practices which were believed by our ancestors to be evil. For example, our ancestors saw the birth of twins as an abomination and ends up killing them until Mary Slessor advocated and educated them on the havoc they are creating and moreso letting them know that twins have equal right to live. On the other hand, before now agricultural cultivation was practised through the use of manual equipment such as hoes, and matches, to mention but a few but since the revolution of global technology modern devices are used to carry out such work thereby making work easier and convenient. Also, in ancient,times letter writing was written with ink and bird's feather and hence, sent to the receiver through a special specie of birds like parrots. In conclusion, although modernisation has exposed people to certain things that can facilitate their means of living both communication aspects, I feel that our ancient traditions should not be overlooked because this gives different ethnic backgrounds their identity,recognition and respect.