The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s era, Technological Intervention is being witnessed in almost all sectors due to its advancements. In earlier times, people would prefer to communicate with each other in person but nowadays, the use of social media applications such as Facebook, and Twitter is being considered a method of communication. In my opinion, this practice has more disadvantages than advantages. Starting with, though social media applications are proving to be advantageous in situations where having direct communication seems to be impossible, considering them as the only source of communication is having an adverse impact on human relationships. Human Beings are spending a considerable amount of their time posting pictures, and making videos because of which they are left with limited time wherein it is unlikely for them to have some direct interactions. For example, according to a recent study, couples spending more time on social media apps are likely to get in more fights resulting in higher divorce rates. Therefore, communicating digitally or not all affects human bonds to a great extent. Furthermore, it is undeniable that social media platforms help in solving some serious crimes, thereby, proving to be a blessing for crime investigators and the police force but they are also a root of some serious issues such as web hacking. Recent crime reports witnessed that most of the murderers took a hacker’s assistance in getting the whereabouts of their target. Hence, usage of social media applications is not guaranteeing the security and privacy of an individual’s account. In conclusion, although being active on social media comes with a series of benefits, the rise in crime rates and weakening of bonds between family members, couples are highly likely to be owned to the social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter.