Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The way that the food is packaged has become an issue recently. The plastic and cardboard-made bags and containers sold in the supermarket are the central problems as people often buy them and generate huge amounts of waste that contaminated the ecosystem. However, are the stores the only ones to improve or do have people the same responsibility to minimise the amount of waste? This essay aims to discuss both sides and reach a conclusion. Firstly, big supermarket brands usually look for their benefits, the cost of materials and the way to preserve the product are the main aims for them. That is why they choose to use normal packages that are low-cost. However, they could think of ways to reduce the size of the food containers as well as ways to use more eco-friendly materials, it might be more complicated, nevertheless, with time it might be a great change for nature. In the end, doing some adjustments these manufacturers could improve their packages helping nature and giving a good impression to their customers. On the other hand, people who buy goods with a big quantity of packaging are more likely to generate a lot of waste which is not good for the environment. People who buy twenty individual water bottles throw more plastic than the ones who buy 5 litres of water bottles. This is the reason why people should avoid buying unnecessary things that could not be enviro-friendly, therefore, they could start looking for products with less packaging or with reusable packaging that could be used in the future. Afterwards, is everyone's responsibility to look for ways to reduce the use of plastic. In conclusion, I believe that supermarkets and customers are equally responsible to reduce the amount of packaging. If people do not buy over-package products supermarkets would stop producing them at the same time that supermarkets look for more ways to use fewer packages in their goods.