Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertising tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point do you agree with ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, advertisements became more popular than how they used to be a few decades ago. From publicity on TV to posters on the street walls, it can have both a positive and negative impact. Some individuals think that advertising encourages us to buy products we may need to improve our daily lives, others, on the other hand, say that it motivates us to buy useless things. Personally, I partially agree with both ideas and this essay will discuss my point of view in the following paragraphs, including some examples from my own experience. First of all, it is now easier to discover innovations through publicity on TV, social media or in the streets. These new products might be useful to facilitate daily life; an example to illustrate that is the advertisements of the new robots that help with cleaning home spaces. Moreover, publicities are a way for the population to know more about the good deals available, like the discounts on cars, houses or vacation deals, motivating the population to buy and consume at a lower price. In my country, for instance, multiple commercials promoting interesting deals are diffused in the time frame where most people watch TV and it's an effective way to increase the buying rates. However, advertising might also have a negative impact on the consumers, making it, sometimes, the cause of impulsive shopping, influencing people to buy items they are not in the need of. The channels that are always diffusing useless commercials during the shows and movies, for example, influence indirectly the more vulnerable clients, such as housewives, into buying excessively. My mother, for instance, fell into this trap multiple times without actually realizing it, and it is the case for multiple people in her circle. To summarize, I personally think that commercials have both a positive and negative impact that the consumer must learn how to balance. By being more mindful about the products that are bought, we minimize the negative side of useless advertisements.