What is nuclear energy?what are advantages and disadvantages of it?

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of nuclear energy is present across the globe due to its paramount importantance.One school of thought opinion that it is worthless, however others consider that a couple of problems also occur because of the same. Although this has a plethora of merits yet numerous demerits are also there which will be elaborated in upcoming paragraphs. On the brighter side,the first and foremost merit is consistent of energy.It has a consistent output.It is not affected by the weather condition compared to other sources such as wind and solar power.To cite an example,to generate solar energy there is a need of sun same as to generate wind energy there is a need of wind.Nuclear fission generates far more energy than fossil fuel combustion such as oil,coal and gas.The initial cost of construction,the cost of generating electricity is cheaper and sustainable than other forms of energy such as coal. On the darker side,nuclear energy is a promising alternate and reliable energy resource for future electricity needs. However there are endless drawbacks of nuclear energy. Firstly,harmful impact on environment like destructive process of uranium mining.Both open-pit mining generates radio active waste causing erosion and in some way pollute water supplies. Secondly,it generates radio active waste.Radiation is not harmful in small quantities but the radio active waste from nuclear plants is hazardous. For instance, when nuclear waste is exposed to water bodies, it harm the aquatic life and also pollute the water of the sea and also have bad impact of it who so ever use the water.It also creates oodles of disease related to water. In a nutshell,nuclear power generation is a vast concept with number of merits but demerits of it can not be overlooked.It is like a mixed bag of thoughts.It should be handled with care while using it and human beings ought not to misuse it and it helps a lot to generate the electricity but it also harm the aquatic life,when the nuclear waste is thrown in the water bodies.