A group of people believe that smoking in the public should be banned. Other groups of people argue that it should not. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether smoking should be banned in public areas. I think it's necessary, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, it's detrimental to the surrounding people. As we know, when you see smokers smoking cigarettes you will find they constantly exhale a large amount of smoke, which includes tar and carcinogens. On the one hand, these substances can give smokers a feeling of satisfaction; on the other hand, they can contaminate the surrounding air. According to some statistical figures, there are around 250 toxic substances in secondhand smoke, and 69 are cancer-promoting. Therefore, should a smoker smokes in public areas; his surrounding will be affected unquestionably. Many scientists have pointed out that many diseases, such as cardiac diseases and lung diseases, are directly linked to secondhand smoke. It has been reported that secondhand smoke can increase the probability of lung cancer up to 30%. Second, it's easy to cause fires in the public. Take me as an example. I have read countless news about fires that are caused by some un-killed cigarette butts. A normal cigarette can burn for 10 mins normally; hence, if a cigarette is discarded casually, then it's liable to cause fires in public areas. Third, smoking has a negative influence on under-aged people. It has been reported that the proportion of teen smokers has grown dramatically. The reason is that when teens see people smoke on the curb, they find it attractive and start acting like them. As a consequence, the number of junevile smokers has increased rapidly. In conclusion, I believe banning smoking in the public is of the utmost importance.