In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

With the advancements in technology,security and artificial intelligence, few nations have been successful in alleviating the number of serious crimes. Citizens, however, still feel unsafe than earlier. There are plenty of reasons to cite. Down here, I will elaborate on those and suggest a few measures that could be taken to solve it. One of these reasons is that in spite of lesser serious crimes, smaller crime incidents still prevail in society. Never have the reporting of chain snatching been apparent before. Police files are flooded with the records of such events. These unsocial elements who try to rob an individual, sometimes harm them physically too. This makes people have a sense of fear and insecurity. Another cause for the same is the unavailability of street lights in the residential areas.Events like eve teasings and molestations occur at night in the areas where there is no lighting system.Small criminals with no morals never miss the opportunity to harass or take an advantage of the residents.Their main victim is women. That is why people are scared to roam around in localities or walk in parks in the nighttime. The occurrence of these situations can be reduced by the increased patrolling of the police at night. This will keep law-breakers in check.On the government part, roads and streets should be maintained with proper installations of street lights and cameras so that the defaulters can be tracked.Individuals can also take preventive measures by keeping pepper sprays etc with them while travelling alone. In conclusion, this problem can be dealt with by hand-in-hand cooperation of both lawmakers and citizens.