In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that rural people in many countries around the world are moving to cities, and the population in cities is increasing. I believe that this is a negative trend, and I will state the reasons for my view. Firstly, one major reason why I hold to this view is that it can create a negative impact on the development of the countryside. This is because it creates manpower shortages in villages as many residents move to urban areas. In addition, it will be difficult to develop areas with many facilities for residents, like urban areas that have been built. For example, since there are fewer people in villages, there will not be many activities such as recreation centres, national parks, or other big companies. Therefore, although the population is decreasing, and it leads to less traffic on the roads, it will not be full of new modern technology, with only a few opportunities for young people. Secondly, another significant drawback is that it makes urban areas crowded and more polluted. This means that increasing a large number of people in the cities contributes to the area traffic congestion caused by being crowded. For instance, a survey team illustrated that the number of traffic in Yangon, the capital city of Myanmar, has increased significantly, and it is linked to the population. Moreover, the air quality has decreased in the city as there are a lot of vehicles used by many residents. Thus, it shows that it creates a negative impact on cities. To conclude, I believe that it is a negative development for both the countryside and cities because it leads to a hindrance to development for the countryside and pollutes and crowds city areas.