Some people think the best way to solve the traffic congestions in cities is to provide free public transports for 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advanced technology makes it possible for people to own their cars, leading to more traffic jams in metropolitan cities. Some people believe that the best way to solve the congested traffic in cities is to provide free public transportation 24 hours a day and 7 days a week; I disagree with it. Providing free public transport day and night would eliminate the traffic bottleneck problems to some extent. Firstly, providing free public transportation at all hours would reduce people’s dependence on their cars, since they can take buses and subways whenever they need. This means that citizens would lower the frequency of using their private cars. Also, the volume of traffic on the roads will be reduced significantly, since city dwellers are more likely to use public transportation instead of using their vehicles. Therefore, the number of vehicles would have a dramatic decrease. However, only offering free public transport round the clock is not the best way to solve these issues and there are several ways to address them efficiently. One reason is that traffic jams only occur at certain times rather than 24 hours a day and even seven days a week, which means that it is unnecessary for the government to provide free transportation all the time. So, free public transit can be provided during rush hour to reduce traffic bottlenecks on the roads. Additional, if governments offer free public transit to the public, it would likely increase the finical burden of the cities’ avenues leading to an increased burden on taxpayers. For instance, more funding would be spent on the maintenance of the public transport system. Another reason is that it would result in some environmental problems since more carbon emissions would be emitted from buses which service twenty-four seven. As a result, it would worsen global warming. In conclusion, although providing free public transport for 24 hours a day and 7 days a week is an efficient way to solve traffic congestion, several reassures can be taken to tackle this problem in a more efficient way.