Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been controversy between two groups of people, some claiming that in a kid’s growth parents play the most essential role, while others believe that there are other influencers like friends or TV. Examining both points along with giving the writer’s opinion on this topic are the aims of the following essay. The main reason for parents to be the key in a child’s age progress is that they know their kids better than any other person. In other words, from birth time to the early adolescent period mom and dad are here to look after their offspring from any threats or injuries. Throughout this road they teach their kids how to act on different occasions and how to speak, proving them to be the first tutors. In addition, for the majority parents are the closest friends to share secrets and get encouragement on bad days. Thus many youngsters feel safe while ageing as there is always support given by their parents. Nevertheless, it is inevitable that there are other individuals like friends from neighborhoods who may significantly impact a teenager while growing up. Since, most of the teens’ time usually is spent in school and there is a high probability that they try not to be odd or avoid being bullied by their peers. For example, in 2021 almost 80% of students in a particular medium school in India used to smoke cigarettes, while searching for the reasons, school staff found out that smoking was recommended by their peer friends. Moreover, enhancement in technology especially TV also had shown its impact on youth maturing. Shows or concerts by famous individuals mostly are cast on channels, affecting children to imitate their styles like fashion. In my opinion, though environmental aspects like tv or friends around may have some point in affecting the children’s development, the core role in this trend is taken by parents. To summarize, due to the above-given explanations parents still will take an essential part in a kid’s growth, yet the effects given by tv and friends around can not be neglected.