Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today’s world, the majority of people are concerned about youngsters learning international language at primary school, which is thought by some people to be a useful experience for children; however, others consider that it can be detrimental. These children would have a bilingual education and gain confidence in communication but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of children studying a foreign language at the young age is that they are likely to understand better, which leads to a fundamental background to being bilingual. Research indicates that adolescents learn foreign languages faster than adults. Secondly, learning an international language at primary school offers children an opportunity to communicate with foreigners without difficulties. This means that they would not be embarrassed in public and show their ability. In developed countries, for example, the youngsters could interview on the streets with journalists fluently in foreign languages. On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. One commonly held view is that children might be stuck with communicating with the elder, who can not catch up with international languages. It is possible that sometimes the youngsters forget some words in their native language when they need to express their thoughts to others; therefore, they are interrupted, especially the aged. Another reason is that learning languages simultaneously at school might put pressure on children, which thrives them on depression. This would result in foreign language obsession. All in all, there are plus points to children studying international language at primary school. Having said that, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of interruption in talking and the pressure on learning foreign languages.