Most large companies nowadays operate multinationally. To what extent multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

Overseas corporations’ obligation towards the area where they are based has been a topic of concern in this day and age. Although I agree that these businesses should bear responsibility for helping the local community, it ought to depend on the will of the firms. On the one hand, the appearance of these multinational enterprises already enhances employment in the neighbourhood. For instance, when Samsung established new showrooms and retail stores in Hanoi, many job seekers were employed, which decrease the unemployment rate and improved the living standards. Furthermore, international companies must pay taxes which contribute tremendously to the local areas as this amount of money will be spent on social benefits such as educational services and medical care. Therefore, it is unreasonable for those organisations to take any further obligation for providing support to local communities where they base their offices. On the other hand, businesses can substantially benefit from being socially responsible by actively protecting the habitats that ensure their sustainable long-term growth. For example, the Coca-cola corporation had many campaigns to improve climate; thus, they receive support from the local government. Moreover, foreign companies should be very conscious of their track record, when it comes to the local communities as these are directly tied to the brand name. As a result, if the company has steps to dispose of waste then the citizens enjoy their product without concerns about the environment. In conclusion, although the operation of large enterprises from wealthy nations in less developed countries naturally sparks several positive changes, I think they should be responsible for the local issues.