Some people think government should subsidies food and vegetables to make healthy food cheaper. Other argues that tax should be set on unhealthy food. Discuss both views and gives your opinion.

Unhealthy eating habits are a persuasive problem in many societies. It is believed by some that subsidiary needs to be imposed on fruits and vegetables, while others opine it is better to introduce a tax on junk foods. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I believe introducing higher tax is far better than providing subsidiary. There are some people who believe that healthy foodstuff should have subsidiaries as this would make foods affordable, thereby encouraging more population to consume these products. Indeed, a large portion of the total population globally is middle-class people who live on a tight budget. In such a situation, if the government introduces an allowance for healthy products such as fruits and vegetables, then folk would opt for these items to reduce their household expenses. In India, for instance, instead of providing financial support to the destitute, the government has introduced state-owned grocery shops, and, their consumers can buy these healthy meals for free. By doing this, people are not just saving money, but are also eating healthy. Many would continue to consume more junk eateries which are much cheaper to buy, if no such efforts are made, and this would result in many unprecedented diseases such as heart ailments and obesity. Others, including myself, believe that imposing a heavy tax on fast- foods is by far an effective way to reduce the intake of unhealthy items. Individuals normally have fast- foods as they are less expensive and are easy to cook, even though they are aware of their harmful impacts on their bodies. Having made expensive, people would try to reduce buying these products in order to have some savings. In some European nations, for instance, a 37% tax was introduced on junk foods, and a 16.7% reduction was there in the consumption rate. In fact, if these products are sold at an affordable price, individuals would continue to buy these items so that make their life easier. The faster the governments introduce such taxes, the sooner the reduction in the consumption rate. In conclusion, unhealthy food habits will put all our lives at risk if not properly addressed. In my opinion, introducing a higher tax on junk foods will have a much more reduction in the consumption rate than a subsidiary for healthy foods.