Workers often have to retire at the age of 60 or 65. However, some people say that they should be allowed to continue working as long as they want. What is your opinion on this?

Globally, laws regarding what constitutes a healthy retirement age seem to vary from one country to another. In countries like India or the UAE, this is a mandated law, stipulating the age when a person is required to end their professional life. I feel compulsory retirement should not be legally enforced upon anyone except those working in positions where age could pose a significant safety risk to themselves or others. The following paragraphs will illustrate the merits of this position. Firstly, it should be remembered that age does not necessarily affect professional performance negatively. In fact, as is the case with writers, age can often bring a certain level of wisdom that enhances the quality of an author’s work. Julia Donaldson, an extremely popular children’s book author now in her mid-eighties, continues to publish relevant and highly respected material despite her advanced years. If she was forced to halt her profession due to her age, her insight and decades of understanding would largely go unheard. Thus, for certain professions, one should be allowed to continue regardless of age. However, there are other lines of work that demand strict ruling in regard to retirement. Pilots, for example, must be able to execute decisions clearly without reservation or fatigue. Generally, it is witnessed on average that most human beings lose energy levels as they age. The reduced reflexes of pilots over the age of 65 could potentially risk the lives of hundreds of passengers, and this is obviously a serious safety risk. Thus, there are merits to enforcing a retirement age upon people in certain professions. In conclusion, the establishment of mandatory retirement age should be made specific to the profession in question. A policy to legally restrict should not be generic but specific in nature. Ideally, a government policy that can enhance and maximize both the productivity and safety of society should be prioritized.