In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

In recent years, crime-related shows, movies, and books are receiving more attention from people in different countries. Many believe that their popularity is according to their mysterious context which makes the audiences follow the story. However, watching such movies might have a variety of advantages and disadvantages which should not be ignored in long term. In this essay, both causes and effects will be discussed and analyzed. I believe movies which contain a back-and-forth conflict between police and criminals could heighten the stress level of the audiences, and this fact makes them more popular. For example, the writers understood that mysterious concepts could motivate people's curiosity to follow the series, and this is why that HBO series like "Breaking Bad" has gained more popularity among the competitors. The type of the story keeps the followers suspended in the space, while it addicts them to continue watching the different seasons of the movie. Consequently, the same idea is extensible to novels and books. I think this growing trend could have merits and demerits. Although these sorts of crime-related entertainments could amuse a large portion of society, they could have side effects which can be detrimental in long run. For instance, someone may take the bad character as a role model, and try to imitate his/her personality. This idea may cause an increase in the rate of illegal actions in various communities. As a result, such movies or books could poison the minds of their fans and especially affect the behaviour of younger generations. Hence, the effects should be investigated carefully to avoid dreadful consequences. In conclusion, watching and reading crime novels and TV dramas has a growing trend due to their attractiveness. However, it is essential to do extensive research on the behavioural patterns of individuals in different societies to make sure that their effects are well-controlled.