Some people think that the best way to succeed in life is to get a university education, while others disagree and say that it is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ when it comes to the way in which we embrace success in life. While some claim that a university degree is mandatory for a successful life, others believe that other parameters are behind this. While both the arguments have their significance, in my opinion, I am more biased towards the latter perception. I shall elaborate on the same in the following paragraphs. The primary reason behind the former group’s view is the general thought that the essential requirement of any good job in society requires graduation as its minimum qualification. It is because most ‘job-renders’ consider university education as a standard parameter to assess the extent of knowledge and skills of a candidate. They believe most universities train candidates in a wholesome manner, focusing on all the aspects of the specialization, and in rare cases, they would go wrong. For instance, multinational companies offer jobs through campus placement in popular colleges or universities as they believe these candidates have had the exposure that the company needs as a skill set. But, it is rarely seen that these companies choose freshers who have lesser educational qualifications as they are considered inexperienced and ignorant. This is why employers have set graduation as one of the basic requirements in job classifieds, which most society agrees to. On the other hand, the latter group points out that there is a vast majority of the booming population who do not see the doors of any university. They believe that a range of factors can contribute to this success, including hard work, perseverance, inborn talents, intelligence, external support, motivation and luck. Even in the absence of a university degree, any of these factors can assist in becoming successful in life. For example, a business person can help his son run an individual business successfully, even if he is not a graduate. Similarly, many school dropouts have achieved heights in their life with hard work and perseverance. The list includes Rabindranath Tagore, Bill Gates, Dhirubhai Ambani, Mark Zuckerberg, A.R. Rahaman, Steve Jobs, and many more. Hence, I have an undying belief in the capabilities humans possess, regardless of whether they have a university degree or not. To conclude the essay, I would like to state that even though a university degree is essential in assuming a promising career in the present scenario, I feel it is not mandatory to be a successful man as other crucial factors determine a person’s success.