Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that cultural traditions are ruined when they are used to make money from tourists. Others claim that using these practices as money-making ventures is the only way to save them. In my opinion, both views are true to a certain extent. To begin with, many traditional customs are modified for commercialization, which leads to losing their originality and value. For example, Vietnamese traditional dances such as the lion dance, which was traditionally performed only by martial artists during special occasions, are now often poorly performed by amateurs at tourist sites across the country. Such changes not only give foreign visitors a false impression, but can, also make the dance less meaningful to the local population. Also, many traditionally sacred sites are heavily damaged by the irresponsible behaviours of tourists. For instance, a well-known Youtuber named Logan Paul visited Japan and filmed himself dumping a bag of coins into a sacred well, where individuals often drop coins for luck, and did permanent damage to one of Japan’s most famous iconic rituals. On the other hand, there are several reasons why making money from cultural traditions is the only way to protect them. Firstly, the revenue could be used for the preservation of such heritage. For example, many people in Bat Trang village in Vietnam make their living from selling traditional ceramic products and thus are able to continue one of the oldest cultures in Vietnam. Secondly, by putting cultural beliefs on public display, the government could heighten the community’s awareness of preserving these. For instance, the Vietnamese government has built several museums around the country that solely exhibit examples of ethnic minority cultures in an attempt to protect cultural values without affecting the lives of these ethnic communities, yet successfully gathering much public attention and support. In conclusion, using cultural traditions as money-making attractions has both positive and negative impacts on the preservation of such beliefs.