All natural resources are limited. It is therefore important that all companies make products that can be used for many years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, human beings’ activities have ever-increasing detrimental effects on natural resources, especially, businesses are responsible for this adverse phenomenon. Hence, some people believe that it is necessary for all companies to manufacture durable products. From my perspective, I am not convinced by this idea and this essay will point out some reasons for my opinions. First and foremost, thriving businesses always put the number of sold products as a major priority. The reason is that they have to make their profit so as to maintain and pay salaries for their employers. Thus, if they manufacture products being utilized within a long term that discourage consumption, they can not sell their good and make a profit as much as possible, especially in technological industries such as mobile phones or electronic items. In addition, many enterprises have modern technology and use eco-friendly materials which help to reduce their dependence on natural resources. Therefore, it is unnecessary for them to make durable products in order to save the environment. Moreover, from my viewpoint, the overexploitation of natural resources can be solved in other ways. This situation calls for prompt actions which are the responsibility of local authorities. For instance, the government should bring out policies to encourage organizations to invest in environmentally friendly technology and minimize environmental consequences. They also can impose high taxes on products made of natural resources. Another example, local councils can raise public awareness about using eco-friendly goods and saving energy or how to recycle & reuse used products. In conclusion, all businesses do not have the obligation to make goods having a long life cycle because of their profit-related goal and optimal production lines. I still maintain my position that it is responsible for governments to carry out relevant programs. As a result, people can both protect their natural habitat and economic prosperity.