Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, people prefer to have private cars and it has been increasing rapidly over the past thirty years, thus big traffic jam are being created. In my opinion, it is true for some reasons. Namely, having private cars is more comfortable, and companies which produce cars encourage people to buy their products. However, the government can do some activity to solve this concern and it will be discussed in this essay. Recently, for many reasons, individuals tend to car ownership and it causes traffic jam. First and foremost, there is not sufficient public transportation and everyone who wants to use them has to wait in a long queue. Therefore, people prefer to buy a car, because it is more convinient. Based on a study that was done by Tehran University, the most important encouraging factor for buying car is the lack of public transportation. Last but not least, these days companies generate the variety of cars with a number of options and prices, so individuals can purchase one of them. Indeed, the government can carry out some corrective actions to decrease the tend of people to car ownership. Firstly, they should expand public transportation. For instance, the number of buses should be enhanced, and the underground train system must be developed. Secondly, they should consider a specefic line on streets for riding bicycle, so individuals use their bikes for going to work. Statistics show that the many humans go to work by their automobiles, because they can not utilize their bicycle in crowded streets. In conclusion, despite that fact many individuals have private cars, they will not use their cars if there are some better choices for their commutes. As a result, the gornment can persuade them to do not utilize their cars by creating new facilities for them.