Cambridge IELTS 8, Test 3 Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Although we usually forget, petrol plays a major role in every country’s transportation system. Most of the vehicles are run by petrol and there are still several problems with managing the use of petrol and increasing number of personal cars. A good result of increasing the price of petrol is people avoid buying cars which are run by petrol. So, when they want to buy a car, they will choose a hybrid or electrical one. Also, governments should invest on changing the transportation system so that public vehicles run by electricity instead of patrol. It would be expensive but its results lead to a less polluted environment. On the other hand, some economists argue that petrol in most of the countries is an economic-politic product, so increasing the price of petrol will leads to an increase in public transportation prices, and it will cause a raise in price of other goods. Thereby, the damages of this action are more than its profits. So, governments should manage some other factors before increasing the price of petrol. In conclusion, raising the price of patrol has so many advantages but if governments do not manage its results and prepare fundamentals, this action will cause many problems. In my opinion, governments should accept the costs of this measure and invest on changing the fundamentals of the countries to increase the price of petrol.