Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

In this day and age, some companies often invent their revenues in millions in advertisement on social media. Although customers do not need these products, they may change their mind after watching these adverts. This essay will explore both positive and negative impacts on consumerism. On the one hand, some people reckon that an impressive advert which is shot by companies may increase the willingness from buyers. That is to say, multinational companies will collaborate with celebrities, their endorsement may attract their fans to purchase. For instance, Nike, a well-known sport enterprise, invited a famous NBA player Kyrie Irving to endorse their basketball shoes then shared the news on the Instagram. Although not all of his fans play basketball in person, 70% of them still felt compelled to buy it. On the other hand, other individuals may maintain that advertisement may have negative influence on environment. In other words, adverts are the faster approach to trigger impulse buying, however, a wide range of customers feel remorse for commodities which may become garbage and harm the earth. China News reported that there were 75% of women bought cosmetics due to the adverts, nevertheless, they regrated after purchasing. Furthermore, the chemical materials and plastic packaging may be harmful to our earth. In conclusion, companies will always try their best to sell as much as their products. Although advertisement is a method to accomplish their goal, it has its own merits and demerits. It is our responsibility to be wise and buy the useful things that we really need. (256 words)