Some people believe that it is important to give gifts to friends and family to show that we care about them.Others think that there are better ways to show that we care.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Personal relationships with family and friends matter greatly to many people. In this respect, some argue that one should maintain these relationships by giving each other gifts, while other share the view that gift -giving is not the best way to do this. Despite having proven itself to be the most common way of expressing care and affection, giving gifts is not necessarily the most optimal option when it comes to building stronger connections. There are numerous reasons why one might think a gift is a clear reflection of our warm feelings towards one another. The first one has to do with human psychology. Most people attach significance to material possessions, so they do not feel appreciated unless this feeling is expressed with a gift of some kind. Interestingly, this has been the case for many generations, as far back as hunter-gatherer times when our distant ancestors shared tools and food to demonstrate feelings of care and togetherness. More than just being expression of love and gratitude, gifts serve as reminders of important events, milestones, and other people to us. Admittedly, the recipient is constantly reminded of the giver every time they use that particular gift they received, which explains why gift -giving has become such a deep-rooted notion in our society. I am, however, more inclined to think that giving presents is not always the right way to go about relationships. A friend or a relative who prioritizes meaningful interactions over extrinsic gestures would rather share a heart-felt conversation than receive a gift item. This is even more so if the relationship one is trying to reinforce is a damaged one since gifts, in my mind, can do little in the way of repairing fractured bonds. One other better alternative to gifts is friendly help in the form of professional guidance or simply, a piece of advice. Helping a friend who is faced with an issue at work or school is considered more thoughtful form of currency in most relationship instances, even though a gift may help uplift their spirits. In conclusion, while giving presents is the most common/token gesture of love and care to one another, I hold the view that there are other better ways to express one ’s genuine feelings to a friend or a relative.