Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology is also known as “IT” plays a key role in a business. People use techology to work, communicate and make decisions in a business. While there are many advantages of IT, it does have its drawbacks. Let’s look at both sides of the coin. Firstly,Information technology helped people to work from home during covid-19 and keep businesses activities outside of their workplace. Covid-19 proved how important technology is and valuable to us. For example, people were able to take care of their family and still able to work safely in their house. This helped businesses to stay in profit and help people with financial stability. Secondly, working from home increased productivity. People are agile and proactive now more than ever. The key disadvantage of the IT is lack of human touch. For example, people attend big meetings from home. In the workspace, when board meetings happen, people communicate, and give their strong viewpoints and ideas. While working from home, people hardly listen to the meetings. They use their mobile and ignore the most important information provided by the company. There is also a lack of strong relationship-building between the employees. In the office, employees used to listen to each other problems and helped each other. This completely disappeared during work from home as employees hardly talks to each other. This affects the mental health of the employees. In conclusion, IT has progressed the business world by enabling people to work at their convenience but still taking away some important aspects of working from the office. The benefits outweigh the drawbacks. For example, people can travel to a different locations during the summer and enjoy themselves with their family, still work and complete the task at hand. This benefits the business, the employee and the family.