Some people get into debt buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

More and more people are getting into debt due to the purchase of products they cannot afford and do not really need. This essay will argue the main reasons for such behaviour and some of the actions which society can take to tackle the problem. Over time capitalism has had many tools to influence people into becoming consumerism addicts. Interestingly, the advertisement industry has turned out to be the main and most harmful one. For instance, ''Young Minds'', an Argentinean magazine, released in 2018, a study which provided evidence of the inextricable connection between adverts and the increase in young professional's debt. In addition, there has been an increasing number of apps developed specifically to influence individuals to consume more. Such mobile applications allow target audiences to finance their purchases and make payments in weekly or monthly instalments. As a result, websites like Afterpay, for example, end up making millions of dollars from returning clients who became shopping addicts. However, there are many initiatives governments can consider in order to regulate both adverts and influential mobile apps. Firstly, the estate can promote specific regulations that prevent ads from emitting misleading messages to the public. For instance, if at the end of any promotion there could be a final message explaining the implications of consumption, people could become aware of the rising problem that is living in debt. Authorities could also impose tax increases on smartphone apps in order to discourage the growth of such businesses, which thrives at the expense of our citizens' economy. For instance, if there were lesser options for individuals to finance their shopping, maybe they would stop spending money on things they do not really need. To conclude, this essay explained the underlying causes of the aforementioned problem and how governments and individuals can work together to sort the problem out.