News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

The information about recent, current and upcoming events, that can be learnt from the mass media, is difficult to ignore. News in general, and negative news in particular, help people to understand what is likely to happen next. There is nothing wrong with the bigger share of negative events, because news should educate, and not cheer up or entertain. People are curious by nature, and therefore their willingness to learn about things that are happening is normal. Articles and reports on changes in governments, natural disasters or military operations together assist the population with understanding the global picture of trends and tendencies on the planet. Watching or reading news has become part of daily routine, because it is essential for decision making. There is usually less content on positive than negative events, with an obvious reason for it. Bad news simply carries more useful information, whereas good news is often the same as no news, since everything is going according to the plan. For instance, every few years there is a new highest skyscraper in the world, which sounds good but not surprising. However, if for any reason such skyscraper gets destroyed, that is a major event and there will be global consequences of it, such as a war against terrorism or drastic changes in architectural practices. In conclusion, people need a permanent source of meaningful information about global events. Although it does not look like a positive fact that bad news consumes most of the screen time and printed media space, they deserve more attention because there is more meaning in them. Even in a perfect world the humanity would need to be regularly informed about problems to move forward efficiently.