Some older people struggle with use of modern electronic technology such as smartphones and computers . Writes the cause and the propose a solution

In this day and age, there are a number of older people who are fighting with the adaptation of using new technology. It is generally seen that senior citizens face challenges whenever new technology launches due to a lack of knowledge and individuals need to educate them so that they could benefit from it. To begin with, the elderly have trouble catching up with new developments in technology because computers and smartphones are fundamentally novel. For instance, those kinds of equipment require a skill set that is completely foreign to this generation since such gadgets were not available in their learning years. Moreover, using a computer requires navigating its unfamiliar interface, locating programs, typing, making accounts, and troubleshooting. Even the simple task of turning on a computer becomes overwhelming and seems like an initial barrier for the older generation. Taking into account the above reasons, the best solution to tackle this is education. Setting up more workshops in offices which impart training of these gadgets to the older people who are still working there. Additionally, family members play a vital role in helping the elderly in their homes, they can encourage the elderly to learn this kind of skill. Since most of their relatives are settling down from distant places, it would be a great motivation for old people to make video calls to their loved ones by using applications such as Skype, WhatsApp or Facebook messenger. Through simple instructions from family members, using smartphones and computers can become a routine task. In conclusion, although old people have difficulty learning to use new modern technology, regular training at work and at home is the way to overcome this issue. In this way, the benefits of technology are a part of everyone's life, not only for youngers as before.