Some people think governments should spend less money on arts and invest more in education. How far do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, the attitude people adopt towards social evolution has undergone a noticeable and far-reaching transformation. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus is hardly reached as to whether authorities should focus on providing capital for schooling and put less money on artwork in the country’s developmental strategy. For my part, I side with the advocates to a larger extent based on the following sound reasons. Firstly, it is noteworthy that education has played a vital role in improving the living condition of the majority of citizens in most countries around the world. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible, the well-educated society can earn more money and have higher consciousness thanks to the full knowledge they have learned from schools and universities. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the developed countries all have well-qualified education which leads to a higher income and value compared with undeveloped countries. For example, some countries which are better-educated have an extremely low crime rate and high living standards; therefore, the citizens can have a safe and comfortable life and a lot of people like to go there to live and work. This example is the illustration of the fact that authorities should put teaching as the top priority in the evolution of their countries which can help develop their economy substantially. Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors is that the arts are also one of the crucial parts of our life that need more money from the government's budget. This belief could be attributed to the fact that people tend to be so stressed in their work and want to enjoy watching or doing some artwork to make their life more colourful and interesting with high-cost arts. This argument is true to some degree; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is that arts in daily life are only an entertainment or relaxation method so people can spend their own money on their favourite genre while the poor living condition still affects negatively on the nation that also needs to be solved by governments. For instance, according to some research, people can buy tickets to attend a pop star concert therefore it would bring the budget and motivation for the singers to continue to create more products that do not need money from the authorities. From this example, one can observe that governments can spend less money on arts due to their minor effect on our daily life. In conclusion, I am convinced that education is the top priority in contemporary society and that governments should invest more based on the reasons mentioned above. From that point, the young generation will be well-educated so that they can develop their living standard and make the world a better place.