It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Learning the differences between right and wrong at an early age for children is so substantial. Some people expound that punishment is necessary to help their learning. From my perspective, I agree with punishment to some extent meanwhile, encouragement can be definitely helpful in this field too. Furthermore, there are some sorts of penalties which parents are allowed to use. In the following, I shall further discuss the issue, comprehensively. To commence with, punishment is a double-edged sword; not only can it have positive effects, but also it can bring up some destructive results. For example, it can ruin a child’s self-confidence or may result in disgusting parents, especially when parents punish their offspring in front of others. Moreover, a sense of stubbornness will be augmented which is due to the child’s personality destruction. However, positive points should not be neglected; improper activities will not be repeated. Then, a child learns if he/she repeats the wrong action, it will ensure consequences for him/her. For instance, a boy who has beaten other students in school many times will be fired. Regarding sorts of penalties, they can be physical or behavioural. Admittedly, physical ones are not only effectless but also wrecking. Finally, behavioural chastisements especially mild ones are recommended. To incite example, kids can be deprived of having their loved dolls or going to a park for some days. Hence, the penalty is not the major factor in this respect it should be accompanied by motivation; like, some presents can be given to kids in case of not repeating the wrong things. In conclusion, although behavioural prohibitions are impressive for teaching kids right and wrongs, I contemplate it should be along with encouragement. Only in this case have prohibition merits victory over its demerits. In the end, the more balance between chastisements and encouragement, the better result in children’s behaviour.